Committee/Body details

Local Pension Committee

Purpose of committee

This has the responsibility for the management of the Leicestershire Pension Fund.  This fund covers staff of District Councils, Leicester City Council, Loughborough and De Montfort Universities as well as the County Council.


Membership consists of 5 County Councillors, 2 City Councillors, 2 District Councillor, 1 university representative, and 3 employee representatives.


LGPS Central Joint Committee

The County Council has established joint arrangements with eight Midlands-based Local Government Pension Funds (Leicestershire, Cheshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, West Midlands, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and Worcestershire) to form the Local Government Pension Scheme Central Investment Pool. A joint committee has been established in accordance with section 102 of the Local Government Act 1972 to enable representatives from the eight authorities to meet, ask questions of the operator of the Investment Pool and challenge the performance of investments and investment managers.



Contact information

Support officer: Mrs Angie Smith (0116 305 2583).. Email: